President Buhari Orders Amaechi, Malami, Ngige And Other Ministers With Political Ambition To Resign

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered all members of the Federal Executive Council running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

The directive excludes the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.


The order comes hours after the Court of Appeal set aside the judgment of the Federal High Court in Umuahia that voided a section of the electoral act that barred political appointees from contesting in an election. 


Those affected are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Development Commission, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Post a Comment